Jurassic Beach


I like to think the maid onboard the sailboat will shoot a shotgun and scare the velociraptor away. This saves the maid a lot of work. Besides, as the maid knows, blood is terribly hard to get out of pristine white dresses.

Velociraptor hunting two women
A Raptor with rapt attention

Tellingly, the Jurassic Park movie inspired this work, which I made in July 2018. I created this image in Adobe Photoshop. I made this work for a non-credit digital graphics arts course from Florida State University. The painting (or in actuality, a photo of the painting), for which this work is based, is the work of Danish artist, Marie Kroyer. When I first saw the painting, I noticed the two women in deep conversation and totally unaware of their surroundings. My first thought was what if these vacationers came across an island inhabited by dinosaurs (but did not know the fact). Perhaps the women are hunting for seashells. Yet, soon the hunters will become the hunted. This picture captures a pivotal moment. Will the velociraptor charge? Will the women notice anything not three-feet in front of them? I like to think the maid on board the sailboat will shoot a shotgun and scare the velociraptor away. This saves the maid a lot of work. Besides, as the maid knows, blood is terribly hard to get out of pristine white dresses.

To complete this work, I used some tools in Adobe Photoshop for the first time. First, I added a photograph of a sailboat (which explains how the women got to this place). Second, I added a photograph of a velociraptor. I used the poster effect on the velociraptor along with extra feathering (since the work has a softness about it). I used the clone tool to extend the velociraptor’s tale and did some work on its feet. Lastly, I used the clone tool to draw velociraptor prints in the sand (after using a photograph of a velociraptor footprint as a reference). I found that the clone tool makes a more realistic footprint than using a brush of one color. Before this assignment, I never before used the feathering feature, the poster effect, or the clone tool. I used the clone tool to erase some footprints in the sand as well.

Images courtesy of Wikipedia, Google Images labeled for reuse, and Publicdomainpictures.net

Leave a comment