Wanderer Beyond the World

Wanderer in sea of fog with Chinese Junk and whale's tale

I always admired the dream-like quality of the painting, “Wanderer above the Sea of Fog,” by Caspar David Friedrich. I thought what if the sea of fog was an actual sea? The main goal of this work was to create a feeling of movement.


First, I used the curves adjustment layer to create contrast (the original painting is fairly faded looking). Next, I created a layer mask at the base of the cliff the man stands on. I added a cloud filter, a blur filter, and used the burn tool to create the mist at the base of the cliff.


Second, I used the healing brush at the base of the cliff to cover up a break in the mist to make the mist look like a wave crashing on the rocks. I used the spot brush a lot to cover up cracks in the paint.


Third, I used the magnetic lasso tool and lasso tool to cut out a whale’s tail from another image. I then created a layer mask of a whale’s tail. I changed the angle of the tale to make it look like the whale is diving.


Fourth, I used the polygon lasso tool and the lasso tool to select a picture of a Chinese junk (boat). This took a long time because of all the ropes involved. Next, I transferred the junk to my main image and made a layer mask. I also touched up some spots with the spot brush. Also, I turned down the opacity of the junk to 76 percent so it meshes with the rest of the image better.


Lastly, I used adjustment layers to change the man’s hair from blond to red and his clothing from green to blue. I also extended the man’s hair so it looks like it is blowing in the wind. I used the burn tool and dodge tool on select sections as well.

Images used were labeled for reuse and from Wikipedia.

Leave a comment